Teaching Excellence Award

The Teaching Excellence program is an opportunity to recognize individuals for their contributions to the University through excellence as teachers. The selection of excellent university teachers is based upon expertise in their academic field; quality of lectures and assignments; enthusiasm for teaching; interest in and availability to students; sensitivity to the learning environment; effectiveness as a teacher as assessed through student, peer, and alumni evaluations; commitment to continuous improvement of their own classroom teaching; and contributions to the quality of teaching within the University through assistance and encouragement of other faculty. The Teaching Excellence program has been rewarding teaching excellence at Stephen F. Austin State University since the program's inception in 1994. For more information on past winners, visit the Teaching Excellence Award website.
CTL Award for Excellence in Online Course Design

The Stephen F. Austin State University Center for Teaching & Learning is pleased to announce the CTL Award for Excellence in Online Course Design. Award recipients will be selected based on evidence of excellence in the design of nominated courses and support of his or her department chair. Courses will be judged by a committee based on excellence in the areas of clarity of instructions, look and feel, ease of navigation, interaction strategies, lesson design, accessibility, innovation, and adherence to copyright and intellectual property laws. 


Up to three full-time or adjunct faculty members may be awarded annually. This honorable award includes a sponsorship that helps cover travel and registration expenses (up to $1000) to attend a professional development event related to distance education. The event must be approved by the Center for Teaching and Learning and must be attended within one calendar year of the award. 


To be eligible for the award, nominees must be full-time or adjunct faculty at SFA and be certified by the Center for Teaching & Learning as a Certified Online Instructor. To be considered for the award, faculty must nominate one specific course section that they have developed for online delivery by submitting this form. The course must be currently approved by the Center for Teaching & Learning for online delivery at SFA. If selected, the recipient must agree to present and/or allow the CTL to present certain elements of excellence in my course in a public forum such as on the CTL's website. Furthermore, if the recipient is sponsored by the CTL to attend a professional development event as a result of this award, he/she agrees to participate in at least one local CTL event where he/she shares what he/she learned at that event with the SFA community. Additionally, the faculty member's department chair or director must indicate support of the nomination by completing this form.


Nomination forms will be accepted between February 15 through March 31 each year. Award recipients will be notified prior to April 25. 

The Department Chair Support form can be found here.


Past Recipients

2016: Dr. Dianne Dentice

2015: Dr. T. Parker Ballinger, Dr. Elizabeth Tasker-Davis

2014: Carolyn Stufft

2013: Dr. Heather Olson-Beal, Patricia Sharp

2012: Dr. Lesa Beverly, Dr. Tara Newman, Megan Weatherly

2011: Dr. Kim Kato, Dr. Paige Mask, Dr. Jana Tiefenwerth




Ralph W. Steen Library, 2nd floor


Stephen F. Austin State University


Nacogdoches, Texas




© 2019 SFASU Center for Teaching and Learning